Google search engine

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the final list of candidates for the November 16 Governorship Election in Ondo State, revealing that seven out of the 17 participating political parties have made candidate replacements.


According to a statement by INEC’s National Commissioner for Information and Voter Education, Sam Olumekun, two parties—the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP)—conducted fresh primaries to replace both their gubernatorial candidates and running mates by the June 10, 2024 deadline.

Additionally, five parties replaced only their running mates.

These parties are the African Action Congress (AAC), the Action Democratic Party (ADP), the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), and the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP).

Olumekun highlighted a notable absence of female candidates in the election.

However, he mentioned that one candidate from the African Democratic Congress (ADC) is a person with a disability (a paraplegic).

“The list has been published at our office in Akure and also uploaded to our website and social media platforms for public information,” Olumekun stated.

With the final list of candidates now published, the next phase is the commencement of electioneering campaigns.

As outlined by Section 94(1) of the Electoral Act 2022, public campaigns by political parties are permitted to begin not earlier than 150 days before polling day and must end 24 hours prior to that day.

Accordingly, political parties can start their public campaigns from Wednesday, June 19, 2024, and must conclude by midnight on Thursday, November 14, 2024.

Olumekun reminded candidates, party agents, and supporters to adhere to the legal provisions and INEC guidelines during campaigns.

He emphasized the need for civility and decorum, urging parties to avoid inciting language, violence, voter inducement, and other infractions as stipulated in Sections 92-97 of the Electoral Act 2022.

Google search engine
Previous article#June 12 Democracy Day: Enugu YPP Urges Gov. Mbah To Conduct Transparent LG Elections
Next articleAppeal Court Dismisses Contempt Case Against EFCC Chairman, Imposes N1 Million Fine On Yahaya Bello